Cashtown Wins 2017 South Penn League Championship

J.C. Collins scored three times, D.J. Cool and Chris Schachle drove in two runs apiece, and Cool tossed his third complete game victory of the playoffs, leading the Cashtown Pirates to a 5-2 victory over the Hanover Raiders to win the 2017 South Penn League championship. The title was the first for Cashtown since they won it all in 2011. Hanover grabbed a 2-0 lead in the top of the first on RBI hits from Andrew Burke and Clint Roche, but Cool would allow only three more hits the rest of the way. Cashtown chipped away with single runs in the first and third innings, before Hunter Rang drove in Tyler Reinert in the fourth to take the lead for good. In the fifth, Collins walked and scored on Cool's single, and Cool later scored on Schachle's second sac fly of the contest to provide the final margin.

Congratulations to manager Matt Rebert and the Cashtown Pirates, your 2017 South Penn League champions!!